Men's National Team

Poland Ease Past Georgia With 4:0 Shutout

Poland Ease Past Georgia With 4:0 Shutout

TBILISI, Georgia. November 14 (UEFA) – Poland extend their unbeaten start and secure a third win in four Group D matches thanks to second-half goals from four different scorers.

Final Score: Georgia 0:4 Poland

Second-half efforts from Kamil Glik, Grzegorz Krychowiak, Sebastian Mila and Arkadiusz Milik ensured Poland maintained their unbeaten start in Group D and recorded their third UEFA EURO 2016 qualifying win in four matches with a 4-0 triumph in Georgia.

It was a victory that had looked likely for the visitors throughout the first half as Kamil Grosicki went close three times. The midfielder hit the post with a 17th-minute effort, seconds after Milik had rattled the other Georgian upright. The Polish No7 then forced a fine save from Giorgi Loria and arced an effort narrowly wide either side of a chance for Alexander Kobakhidze, which was driven over the bar and, ultimately, as close as Temuri Ketsbaia’s Georgia came to scoring.

Six minutes after the restart Poland got the opening goal from a corner that stemmed from Loria keeping out Robert Lewandowski’s acrobatic scissor-kick. Mila took the resulting set piece and Krychowiak won the first header at the near post before defender Glik won the next to score his third international goal.

The Poles had their second on 71 minutes when Glik turned provider by nodding on a free-kick swung into the box, returning the favour for Krychowiak to net a close-range finish. Two minutes later Adam Nawalka’s men found the target again with their best goal of the night, Milik laying the ball off to Mila who curled into the top corner from just outside the area.

The group pacesetters went on to add a fourth at the death as Lewandowski’s shot deflected into Milik’s path, and the 20-year-old forward was left with a simple finish into an open goal for his third Group D strike.


Georgia – Poland 0:4 (0:0)
Goals: Glik 51′, Krychowiak 71′, Mila 73′, Milik 90′

Yellow carded: Kankawa, Lobżanidze – Glik, Jodłowiec, Linetty
Referee: Paolo Tagliavento (Italy)

Georgia: 1. Giorgi Loria – 2. Ucza Lobżanidze, 3. Saba Kwirkwelia, 6. Akaki Chubutia, 5. Gia Grigalawa – 19. Sandro Kobachidze (88, 17. Nika Dzalamidze), 8. Murtaz Dauszwili, 4. Guram Kaszia, 7. Dżaba Kankawa, 10. Dżano Ananidze (59, 15. Tornike Okriaszwili) – 23. Lewan Mczedlidze (68, 11. Giorgi Czanturia)

Poland: 1. Wojciech Szczęsny – 20. Łukasz Piszczek, 4. Łukasz Szukała, 15. Kamil Glik, 3. Artur Jędrzejczyk – 11. Kamil Grosicki (69, 13. Maciej Rybus), 8. Grzegorz Krychowiak, 16. Krzysztof Mączyński (66, 6. Tomasz Jodłowiec), 18. Sebastian Mila (86, 5. Karol Linetty), 7. Arkadiusz Milik – 9. Robert Lewandowski

For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Men's National Team

More in Men's National Team

Lukasz Piszczek Announces International Retirement

PSN StaffAugust 5, 2018

PZPN Appoint Jerzy Brzeczek as New Poland Coach

PSN StaffJuly 12, 2018

Official: Nawalka Leaving Poland Role After World Cup Exit

PSN StaffJuly 3, 2018

WC: Bednarek Leads Poland Over Fair Play Qualified Japan

PSN StaffJune 28, 2018

Blaszczykowski Insists Poland Camp Atmosphere has not Changed

PSN StaffJune 28, 2018

Boniek: The Poland National Team is Divisive on Lewandowski

PSN StaffJune 27, 2018

Nawalka: I Take Responsibility for Our World Cup Failure

PSN StaffJune 24, 2018

WC: Colombia Eliminate Sinking Poland After Second Group Game

PSN StaffJune 24, 2018

WC: Speedy Senegal Tears Down Poland in Group Opener

PSN StaffJune 19, 2018