Men's National Team

Lewandowski Breaks Armenian Hearts with Late Winner

Robert Lewandowski managed to save the game for the Poles with a shocking late game winner / PAP
Lewandowski Breaks Armenian Hearts with Late Winner

WARSAW, Poland. October 11 (PSN) – Poland squeezed by Armenia with a 2:1 win in Group E 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying action on Tuesday.

Final Score: Poland – Armenia 2:1

An red card in the 30th minute on Gael Andonian after two reckless fouls on Lukasz Teodorczyk meant that Poland had earned a game advantage early on.

While the bialo-czerwoni had many attempts at goal, they only managed to take the lead in the second half thanks to an effort by Robert Lewandowski during a set-piece play. The goal was later credited as an own goal by Armenia’s Hrajra Mkojana who had the final touch.

With Poland finally landing on the score sheet it seemed as Adam Nawalka’s men had found themselves in a situation to potentially rout Armenia.

Unfortunately, this mentality did not last long as only just two minutes afterwards Marcos Pizzelli led Armenia on an offensive break to level the game 1:1, beating Lukasz Fabianski with a strong header.

While things looked bleak, Lewandowski managed to crush Armenian hearts everywhere by strucking a dramatic game winner in the final dying seconds of the game and earn the hard earned three points.

Poland now sit second place in Group E with seven points, tied with current leaders Montenegro.


Poland – Armenia 2:1 (0:0)
Goals: Mkojan 48′ (OG), Lewandowski 90′ – Pizzelli 50′

Yellow carded: Thiago Cionek, Błaszczykowski – Andonian, Beglarjan, Marcos Pizzelli
Red carded: Gaël Andonian (30)
Referee: Ivan Kružliak (Slovakia) Attendance: 44 786

Poland: 22. Łukasz Fabiański – 16. Jakub Błaszczykowski, 15. Kamil Glik, 4. Thiago Cionek, 3. Artur Jędrzejczyk (34, 18. Paweł Wszołek) – 11. Kamil Grosicki (70, 7. Bartosz Kapustka), 10. Grzegorz Krychowiak, 19. Piotr Zieliński, 13. Maciej Rybus – 14. Łukasz Teodorczyk (85, 23. Kamil Wilczek), 9. Robert Lewandowski

Armenia: 1. Arsen Beglarjan – 17. Wahagn Minasjan, 3. Warazdat Harojan, 15. Hrajr Mkojan, 5. Gaël Andonian, 20. Lewon Hajrapetjan – 13. Kamo Howhannisjan (60, 23. Araz Özbiliz), 11. Artak Grigorjan, 19. Karen Muradjan (34, 4. Taron Woskanjan), 21. Dawit Manojan – 8. Marcos Pizzelli (85, 16. Dawit Hakobjan)

For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Men's National Team

More in Men's National Team

Ireland Play Out Draw With Experimental Poland in Wroclaw

PSN StaffSeptember 11, 2018

Italy Scrape Draw with Poland in UEFA Nations League Opener

PSN StaffSeptember 7, 2018

Brzeczek Names 23-man Squad Against Italy and Republic of Ireland

Matt KarasAugust 27, 2018

Lukasz Piszczek Announces International Retirement

PSN StaffAugust 5, 2018

PZPN Appoint Jerzy Brzeczek as New Poland Coach

PSN StaffJuly 12, 2018

Official: Nawalka Leaving Poland Role After World Cup Exit

PSN StaffJuly 3, 2018

WC: Bednarek Leads Poland Over Fair Play Qualified Japan

PSN StaffJune 28, 2018

Blaszczykowski Insists Poland Camp Atmosphere has not Changed

PSN StaffJune 28, 2018

Boniek: The Poland National Team is Divisive on Lewandowski

PSN StaffJune 27, 2018