Men's National Team

Lewandowski Hat Trick Over Armenia Sets Record

Robert Lewandowski is now Poland's leading goalscorer with 49 - one more than Wlodzimierz Lubanski / Twitter
Lewandowski Hat Trick Over Armenia Sets Record

YEREVAN, Armenia. October 5 (AP) – Robert Lewandowski scored a hat trick to become Poland’s all-time highest scorer and put his team on the verge of qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup after beating Armenia 6:1 on Thursday.

Final score: Armenia – Poland 1:6

Poland increased its lead in Europe Group E to six points ahead of Montenegro and Denmark, who faced each other in Podgorica later. If they drew, Poland would automatically qualify with a game to spare.

With his third hat trick in the campaign, Lewandowski became the most prolific scorer in this European qualifying with 15, one ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo.

Before Lewandowski struck, Kamil Grosicki needed only two minutes to fire Poland ahead with a clinical finish after Lukasz Piszczek set him up at Republican Stadium.

Lewandowski curled in a free kick over the defensive wall from some 20 meters for his first goal of the night and 48th in internationals, tying Wlodzimierz Lubanski as Poland’s all-time leading scorer.

Just seven minutes later, Lewandowksi owned the record outright after netting from close following an indirect free kick, given because Taron Voskanyan passed the ball to goalkeeper Grigor Meliksetyan.

Another tap in gave Lewandowski his hat trick in the 64th, and 50th international goal.

Hovhannes Hambardzumyan headed home for Armenia six minutes before halftime to reduce the lead to 3:1.

Jakub Blaszczykowski and substitute Rafal Wolski also scored for Poland.


Armenia – Poland 1:6 (1:3)
Goals: Hambardzumjan 39′ – Grosicki 2′, Lewandowski 18′, 25′, 64′, Błaszczykowski 58′, Wolski 89′

Yellow carded: Manojan
Referee: Matej Jug (Slovenia)

Armenia: 16. Grigor Meliksetjan – 13. Kamo Howhannisjan, 19. Howhannes Hambardzumjan, 4. Taron Woskanjan, 17. Artak Edigarjan – 10. Gegham Kadimjan (62, 7. Edgar Malakjan), 18. Henrich Mchitarjan, 6. Gor Malakjan, 9. Ruslan Korjan (66, 22. Edgar Manuczarjan), 23. Sargis Adamjan (73, 21. Dawit Manojan) – 11. Tigran Barseghjan

Poland: 1. Wojciech Szczęsny – 20. Łukasz Piszczek, 15. Kamil Glik, 2. Michał Pazdan (85, 4. Thiago Cionek), 3. Bartosz Bereszyński – 16. Jakub Błaszczykowski, 10. Grzegorz Krychowiak, 8. Karol Linetty (59, 5. Krzysztof Mączyński), 19. Piotr Zieliński, 11. Kamil Grosicki (72, 13. Rafał Wolski) – 9. Robert Lewandowski

For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Men's National Team

More in Men's National Team

Lukasz Piszczek Announces International Retirement

PSN StaffAugust 5, 2018

PZPN Appoint Jerzy Brzeczek as New Poland Coach

PSN StaffJuly 12, 2018

Official: Nawalka Leaving Poland Role After World Cup Exit

PSN StaffJuly 3, 2018

WC: Bednarek Leads Poland Over Fair Play Qualified Japan

PSN StaffJune 28, 2018

Blaszczykowski Insists Poland Camp Atmosphere has not Changed

PSN StaffJune 28, 2018

Boniek: The Poland National Team is Divisive on Lewandowski

PSN StaffJune 27, 2018

Nawalka: I Take Responsibility for Our World Cup Failure

PSN StaffJune 24, 2018

WC: Colombia Eliminate Sinking Poland After Second Group Game

PSN StaffJune 24, 2018

WC: Speedy Senegal Tears Down Poland in Group Opener

PSN StaffJune 19, 2018