Men's National Team

Poles End The Year With a Loss to Mexico in Gdansk

Poland's Karol Linetty challenges for the ball with a Mexican defender / PZPN
Poles End The Year With a Loss to Mexico in Gdansk

GDANSK, Poland. November 13 (PSN) – In the last exhibition and overall international fixture for the year, the Polish national team lost 0:1 (0:1) with Mexico on Monday in Gdansk.

Final score: Poland – Mexico 0:1

Mexico coasted to a straightforward win over Poland, following an early goal from Raul Jimenez in the 13th minute that saw surprisingly put up very attacking threats and often struggled to keep possession.

Poland had recorded eight wins from 10 in FIFA World Cup qualifying but Adam Nawalka’s men fired a second successive blank in the absence of captain Robert Lewandowski, who was rested in an effort not to risk a thigh injury, after being held to a goalless draw by Uruguay on Friday.

In addition, it seems the Poles have no luck in the Gdansk Stadium. As this was Nawalka’s second consecutive defeat at this stadium, having previously lost to the Netherlands 1:2 here.

The bialo-czerwoni’s last win with Mexico on the international stage was back in the 70’s. That said match was during the 1978 FIFA World Cup, where Poland won 3:1 with goals coming from Boniek and Deyna.


Poland – Mexico 0:1 (0:1)
Goal: Jiménez 13′

Referee: Oliver Drachta (Austria) Attendance: 32 736

Poland: 1. Wojciech Szczęsny – 21. Tomasz Kędziora, 3. Artur Jędrzejczyk (46, 18. Paweł Wszołek), 4. Thiago Cionek, 25. Jarosław Jach, 13. Maciej Rybus (83, 27. Rafał Kurzawa) – 19. Piotr Zieliński, 5. Krzysztof Mączyński, 8. Karol Linetty (62, 20. Rafał Wolski), 17. Maciej Makuszewski (76, 16. Jakub Błaszczykowski) – 28. Jakub Świerczok (71, 7. Mariusz Stępiński)

Mexico: 1. José de Jesús Corona – 7. Miguel Layún, 3. Carlos Salcedo (46, 2. Néstor Araujo), 4. Hugo Ayala (46, 23. César Montes), 15. Héctor Moreno (63, 11. Carlos Vela), 16. Jesús Gallardo – 6. Jonathan dos Santos (74, 22. Omar Govea), 5. Diego Reyes, 18. Andrés Guardado, 20. Javier Aquino (46, 8. Hirving Lozano) – 9. Raúl Jiménez (46, 19. Oribe Peralta)

For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Men's National Team

More in Men's National Team

Late Italy Goal Relegates Poland in UEFA Nations League

PSN StaffOctober 14, 2018

Portugal Spoil Lewandowski’s 100th Cap in Chorzow Goal-fest

PSN StaffOctober 11, 2018

Nations League: Jerzy Brzeczek Announces Squad for Portugal and Italy

PSN StaffOctober 2, 2018

Ireland Play Out Draw With Experimental Poland in Wroclaw

PSN StaffSeptember 11, 2018

Italy Scrape Draw with Poland in UEFA Nations League Opener

PSN StaffSeptember 7, 2018

Brzeczek Names 23-man Squad Against Italy and Republic of Ireland

Matt KarasAugust 27, 2018

Lukasz Piszczek Announces International Retirement

PSN StaffAugust 5, 2018

PZPN Appoint Jerzy Brzeczek as New Poland Coach

PSN StaffJuly 12, 2018

Official: Nawalka Leaving Poland Role After World Cup Exit

PSN StaffJuly 3, 2018