Men's National Team

WC: Bednarek Leads Poland Over Fair Play Qualified Japan

Jan Bednarek celebrates after scoring the lone goal against Japan in the 2018 FIFA World Cup / Twitter
WC: Bednarek Leads Poland Over Fair Play Qualified Japan

VOLGOGRAD, Russia. June 28 – Jan Bednarek netted his first international goal for Poland as they triumphed 1:0 over Japan in their final group game at the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

Final score: Poland – Japan 1:0

Despite the loss which Akira Nishino bizarrely made six changes to an unbeaten team, Japan became the first team to qualify from the group stages via fair play rankings.

The Samurai Blue had beaten Colombia and drawn with Senegal to enter their final Group H match, against Adam Nawalka’s already-eliminated Poland, requiring only a point to reach the last 16.

But Japan scarcely threatened as Shinji Kagawa and Takashi Inui started on the bench and they were instead dependent on results elsewhere after Bednarek broke the deadlock in the 59th minute.

The Southampton FC defender scored his first international goal as he side-footed home Rafal Kurzawa’s inviting free-kick from the left that gave Poland the game winner.

Poland captain Robert Lewandowski afterwards also had an opportunity to put the Poles up by 2:0 but saw his shot go over the crossbar.

Meanwhile elsewhere, Colombia’s Yerry Mina came to Nishino’s rescue, though, as his goal defeated Senegal and ensured Japan progressed in second place due to their superior disciplinary record.

Senegal’s six yellow cards to Japan’s four ultimately cost the African side, who exit Russia in disappointing circumstances alongside Poland.

On this showing, neither England nor Belgium – Japan’s potential last-16 opponents – will fear playing Nishino’s men, who will be grateful simply to make the knockout stages and may well be unrecognisable after this risky experiment.


Japan – Poland 0:1 (0:0)
Goals: Bednarek 59′

Yellow carded: Makino
Referee: Janny Sikazwe (Zambia) Attendance: 42 189

Japan: 1. Eiji Kawashima – 19. Hiroki Sakai, 22. Maya Yoshida, 20. Tomoaki Makino, 5. Yūto Nagatomo – 21. Gōtoku Sakai, 16. Hotaru Yamaguchi, 7. Gaku Shibasaki, 9. Shinji Okazaki (47, 15. Yūya Ōsako), 11. Takashi Usami (65, 14. Takashi Inui) – 13. Yoshinori Mutō (82, 17. Makoto Hasebe)

Poland: 22. Łukasz Fabiański – 18. Bartosz Bereszyński, 15. Kamil Glik, 5. Jan Bednarek, 3. Artur Jędrzejczyk – 11. Kamil Grosicki, 10. Grzegorz Krychowiak, 6. Jacek Góralski, 19. Piotr Zieliński (79, 14. Łukasz Teodorczyk), 21. Rafał Kurzawa (80, 17. Sławomir Peszko) – 9. Robert Lewandowski

For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in Men's National Team

UNL: Poles End Summer Marathon with Defeat to Belgium

PSN StaffJune 15, 2022

UNL: Oranje Held Back by Bialo-czerwoni

PSN StaffJune 11, 2022

UNL: Dominant Red Devils Thrash Poland in Brussels

PSN StaffJune 8, 2022

UNL: Swiderski’s Goal Ensures Poland Win with Wales

PSN StaffJune 1, 2022

Official: Slonina Turns Down Poland, Opts for USA

PSN StaffMay 20, 2022

Poland Call-ups for UEFA Nations League in June

PSN StaffMay 17, 2022

WC: Poland Drawn into Exotic Group C

PSN StaffApril 1, 2022

WCQ: Poland Qualify for Qatar After Sweden Knockout

APMarch 29, 2022

Piatek Levels Late in Scotland Friendly

ReutersMarch 24, 2022
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!