Arka Gdynia 2018 Superpuchar Champions

Arka now have won their second Superpuchar Polski title in a row / Twitter
Arka Gdynia 2018 Superpuchar Champions

WARSAW, Poland. July 14 (PSN) – Arka Gdynia defeated Legia Warsaw on Saturday at the Lazienkowska to claim the 2018 Superpuchar Polski title.

Final score: Legia Warsaw – Arka Gdynia 2:3

Arka repeated history and found themselves yet again on the winning end with Legia in a Superpuchar Polski title game, despite conceding an own goal in the opening minutes.

Andrij Bohdanow after an unlucky intervention gave Legia the lead in the 2nd minute and it almost looked certain that Legia were going to double it not long after.

However, the Baltic club didn’t let that stop them from playing their game and soon climb back into the ring. A beautiful volley goal from Luka Zarandia in the 19th minute let Arka equalize and start to set the tempo of the game. The Polish champions did respond afterwards with a strike from defender Chris Philips, scoring the first goal of his career.

Confusion and miscommunication amongst the Legia defense on the other hand prevented them from keeping their lead, as Arka stormed right back with goals from Bohdanow and Michal Janota just before the half.

The Legionista’s frantically attempted to tie and force Arka into a penalty shootout, but each offensive play by Legia fell flat and turned out to be easily predicted by the Gdynia side’s defense.

Arka have now won their second Superpuchar Polski title in a row, meanwhile this marks the fifth time that Legia have lost in a Superpuchar final.


Legia Warsaw – Arka Gdynia 2:3
Goals: Bohdanow 2′ (OG), Philipps 30′ – Zarandia 19′, Bohdanow 38′, Janota 45′

Yellow carded: Kanté, Mączyński, Vešović, Philipps, Szymański, Kucharczyk – Marić, Nalepa
Referee: Mariusz Złotek (Stalowa Wola) Attendance: 17 419

Legia: 1. Arkadiusz Malarz – 44. William Rémy, 34. Iñaki Astiz, 4. Mateusz Wieteska – 20. Marko Vešović (46, 14. Adam Hloušek), 29. Krzysztof Mączyński (57, 26. Cafú), 6. Chris Philipps, 53. Sebastian Szymański (81, 21. Dominik Nagy), 18. Michał Kucharczyk – 32. Miroslav Radović (57, 27. Carlitos), 19. José Kanté (73, 22. Kasper Hämäläinen)

Arka: 1. Pāvels Šteinbors – 33. Damian Zbozień, 23. Luka Marić (60, 3. Christian Maghoma), 6. Frederik Helstrup, 17. Adam Marciniak – 90. Andrij Bohdanow (78, 4. Dawid Sołdecki), 22. Michał Janota (72, 11. Rafał Siemaszko), 14. Michał Nalepa – 10. Luka Zarandia (88, 2. Tadeusz Socha), 92. Aleksandyr Kolew, 20. Goran Cvijanović (46, 18. Karol Danielak)

For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook: facebook.com/psnfutbol

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


More in Ekstraklasa

PKO Ekstraklasa Round 4: Slask Power Through Lech

PSN StaffAugust 12, 2019

PKO Ekstraklasa Round 3: Lech On the Rise After Win in Lodz

PSN StaffAugust 6, 2019

PKO Ekstraklasa Round 2: Shock in Bialystok as Rakow Steal 3 Points

PSN StaffJuly 29, 2019

PKO Ekstraklasa Round 1: Jagiellonia Celebrate Best Season Start After Crushing Arka

PSN StaffJuly 22, 2019

Lechia Gdansk Lift 2019 Superpuchar After Piast Trashing

PSN StaffJuly 13, 2019

LOTTO Ekstraklasa Round 37 (Playoffs): Piast Gliwice Crowned as 2018/19 Champions!

PSN StaffMay 20, 2019

LOTTO Ekstraklasa Round 36 (Playoffs): Jagiellonia Stop Legia in Their Tracks

PSN StaffMay 15, 2019

LOTTO Ekstraklasa Round 35 (Playoffs): Last Minute Piast Steal Leaders Position

PSN StaffMay 13, 2019

LOTTO Ekstraklasa Round 34 (Playoffs): Piast Stump Legia in Warsaw

PSN StaffMay 6, 2019