Men's National Team

Poland Powerlessness in Slovenia Defeat

Poland struggled against Slovenia and lost their first of the qualifiers on Friday / PZPN
Poland Powerlessness in Slovenia Defeat

LJUBLJANA, Slovenia. September 6 (PSN) – Poland on Friday evening at Stozice Stadium suffered their first defeat in UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying. The bialo-czerwoni succumbed to Slovenia, but still remain the leader of group G.

Final score: Slovenia – Poland 2:0

The first half saw Slovenia dominate all over Poland, with the Poles struggling to face the very aggressive play of the hosts.

Despite a shaky first 10 minutes, Slovenia soon after started becoming a real threat. Matjaz Kek’s team took the lead in the 35th minute thanks to a corner kick, where confusion in the Polish penalty area resulted with Aljaz Struna flicking the ball unmarked past Lukasz Fabianski.

After the half, Poland did get a little more lively by accelerating their game, which saw certain goal threatening situations involving Piotr Zielinski or Kamil Grosicki. Nevertheless, the hosts were able to defend themselves with relative ease from each attack made by the Poles.

Wanting to cement the result, Slovenia scored in the 66th minute after a Michal Pazdan mistake. Andraz Sporar found himself with a one-on-one with Fabianski and sent the ball between his legs, setting the match result at 2:0. Thus, the first defeat of the bialo-czerwoni of the qualifiers had become a fact.


Slovenia – Poland 2:0 (1:0)
Goals: Struna 34′, Šporar 65′

Yellow carded: Struna, Stojanovič – Klich, Krychowiak, Bereszyński
Referee: Sergei Karasev (Russia) Attendance: 15 231

Slovenia: 1. Jan Oblak – 20. Petar Stojanovič, 5. Aljaž Struna, 17. Miha Mevlja, 3. Jure Balkovec – 14. Roman Bezjak, 6. Rene Krhin, 8. Jasmin Kurtič, 7. Josip Iličić, 21. Benjamin Verbič (62, 15. Domen Črnigoj; 90, 19. Robert Berič) – 9. Andraž Šporar (85, 18. Denis Popovič)

Poland: 22. Łukasz Fabiański – 21. Tomasz Kędziora, 5. Jan Bednarek, 2. Michał Pazdan, 18. Bartosz Bereszyński – 20. Piotr Zieliński, 14. Mateusz Klich (70, 15. Krystian Bielik), 10. Grzegorz Krychowiak, 11. Kamil Grosicki (70, 16. Jakub Błaszczykowski) – 23. Krzysztof Piątek (76, 7. Dawid Kownacki), 9. Robert Lewandowski

For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Men's National Team

More in Men's National Team

Official: Slonina Turns Down Poland, Opts for USA

PSN StaffMay 20, 2022

Poland Call-ups for UEFA Nations League in June

PSN StaffMay 17, 2022

WC: Poland Drawn into Exotic Group C

PSN StaffApril 1, 2022

WCQ: Poland Qualify for Qatar After Sweden Knockout

APMarch 29, 2022

Piatek Levels Late in Scotland Friendly

ReutersMarch 24, 2022

Poland Call-ups for Scotland and Play-off Final

PSN StaffMarch 15, 2022

Official: Poland to Play Friendly with Scotland

PSN StaffMarch 14, 2022

Official: Poland Granted Walkover Win Against Russia

PSN StaffMarch 8, 2022

Poland to Boycott Russia Play-off – Risking Forfeit

PSN StaffFebruary 26, 2022
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!