Men's National Team

Two Goals Sink Israel in Polish Win

Krzysztof Piatek celebrates after scoring the second goal for Poland during a corner / PZPN
Two Goals Sink Israel in Polish Win

JERUSALEM, Israel. November 16 (PSN) – The Polish national team continued their winning ways in UEFA EURO 2020 qualifying on Saturday, which saw the Poles defeat Israel 2:1.

As a result, the bialo-czerwoni recorded their seventh victory of the campaign, being able to boast 22 points in Group G.

The match started quite well for Poland, because already in the fourth minute had Grzegorz Krychowiak finding space to score the first goal of the game off a corner, showcasing his good form from the last few weeks at the club level.

Jerzy Brzeczek’s side had a few more goal scoring situations to increase their lead in the first half as well. First and foremost, both Piotr Zielinski and Sebastian Szymanski were close to scoring, but they each lacked the needed finishing touch. So the Poles had to end the half with only a one-goal lead.

After the half,  Krzysztof Piatek increased the lead to 2:0 after taking advantage of an error during a corner from goalkeeper Ofir Marciano. Thus, the AC Milan striker ended his goal drought while at the same time noting his fifth international goal.

When it seemed that Brzeczek’s players would end their eighth match without conceding a goal during qualification, Moanes Dabour scored a volley goal in the dying minutes. However, this was all the goals that the fans would end up seeing, as the match ended with a 1:2 in favour for Poland.


Israel – Poland 1:2 (0:1)
Goals: Dabour 88′ – Grzegorz Krychowiak 4′, Piątek 54′

Yellow carded: Biton – Bielik
Referee: Mattias Gestranius (Finland) Attendance: 16 700

Israel: 18. Ofir Marciano – 17. Loai Taha (43, 14. Dolev Haziza), 21. Eitan Tibi, 4. Nir Biton – 2. Eli Dasa, 3. Dan Glazer, 6. Bibras Natcho, 8. Beram Kayal (79, 22. Ilay Elmkies), 20. Omri Ben Harush (65, 19. Sun Menahem) – 9. Moanes Dabour, 7. Eran Zahavi

Poland: 1. Wojciech Szczęsny – 16. Tomasz Kędziora, 15. Kamil Glik, 5. Jan Bednarek, 13. Arkadiusz Reca – 21. Przemysław Frankowski, 2. Krystian Bielik, 10. Grzegorz Krychowiak (84, 8. Dominik Furman), 20. Piotr Zieliński, 19. Sebastian Szymański (63, 9. Robert Lewandowski) – 23. Krzysztof Piątek (70, 14. Mateusz Klich)

For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

View Comments (1)

1 Comment

  1. Michael

    November 18, 2019 at 6:09 am

    this team isn’t the same like Euro 2016 sadly

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Men's National Team

More in Men's National Team

Bialo-czerwoni Fall to Maguire’s Late Winner

PSN StaffMarch 31, 2021

Official: Robert Lewandowski Ruled Out of England Encounter

PSN StaffMarch 29, 2021

Lewandowski Brace Finishes Andorra

PSN StaffMarch 28, 2021

Super Sub Jozwiak Saves Poland In Budapest

PSN StaffMarch 25, 2021

Poland Call-ups for Hungary, Andorra, and England

PSN StaffMarch 15, 2021

Official: PZPN Name Paulo Sousa as New Coach

APJanuary 21, 2021

Official: PZPN Fire Jerzy Brzeczek

PSN StaffJanuary 18, 2021

World Cup 2022: Poland Drawn into Group I with England

PSN StaffDecember 7, 2020

Jozwiak’s Goal Not Enough to Stop The Netherlands

PSN StaffNovember 18, 2020
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!