1 Liga

Miedz Legnica and Zaglebie Sosnowiec Accept Ekstraklasa Challenge

Miedz Legnica players celebrate winning the Nice 1 Liga and earning promotion to the LOTTO Ekstraklasa / miedzlegnica.eu
Miedz Legnica and Zaglebie Sosnowiec Accept Ekstraklasa Challenge

LEGNICA, Poland. June 10 (PSN) – Both Miedz Legnica and Zaglebie Sosnowiec have won promotion to play in the LOTTO Ekstraklasa for the 2018-2019 season.

Miedz Legnica went into the final week stretch of Nice 1 Liga fixtures confident of their guaranteed promotion, being clear leaders of the league table with 63 points. Their last game against Puszcza Niepolomice was merely a formality which ended in a 1:1 away draw.

Pawel Zielinski scored for Miedz in the 80th minute and it looked like the club would bid farewell to the league in style as victors. However, Puszcza responded back in the dying seconds of the game with Rafal Mikulec scoring from a daring volley kick near the penalty box.

Fortunately, that didn’t spoil the Miedz players and fans mood much as the team nonetheless celebrated their promotion after the final whistle was blown. This will be the first time in the club’s history to play in the top flight. As league champions they automatically move up to the LOTTO Ekstraklasa, while Gornik Leczna, Olimpia Grudziadz and Ruch Chorzow were relegated to the 2 Liga.

Ruch Chorzow, despite being in the LOTTO Ekstraklasa last season now ended their time in the Nice 1 Liga in last place with only 27 points to their name. They were deducted 6 points due to financial penalties.


Puszcza Niepołomice – Miedź Legnica 1:1 (0:0)
Goals: Mikulec 90′ – Zieliński 80′

Yellow carded: Stefanik, Zawadzki – Bartulović
Referee: Sebastian Jarzębak (Bytom) Attendance: 1010

Puszcza: 12. Marcin Staniszewski (23, 99. Miłosz Mleczko) – 15. Rafał Mikulec, 23. Piotr Stawarczyk, 3. Michał Czarny, 27. Mateusz Bartków – 14. Dawid Ryndak (80, 28. Michał Mikołajczyk), 16. Dominik Zawadzki, 11. Marcin Stefanik, 10. Maciej Domański (67, 19. Marcin Orłowski), 21. Jakub Zagórski – 9. Krzysztof Drzazga

Miedź: 95. Piotr Smołuch – 23. Paweł Zieliński, 28. Kornel Osyra, 24. Tomislav Božić, 19. Grzegorz Bartczak – 11. Mladen Bartulović, 6. Rafał Augustyniak, 21. Przemysław Mystkowski (61, 25. Karol Gardzielewicz), 7. Łukasz Garguła, 9. Fabian Piasecki (75, 4. Wojciech Łobodziński) – 77. Mateusz Piątkowski (87, 27. Mariusz Idzik)


While Miedz’s promotion was already confirmed a few rounds beforehand, it was a somewhat similar situation with the second club who would also be rewarded promotion to the LOTTO Ekstraklasa. The race for second place was primarily between Zaglebie Sosnowiec and Chojniczanka Chojnice all the way until the 33rd round, with Zaglebie holding 55 points and Chojniczanka 53. On paper it was the club from Sosnowiec who were the clear favourites to take second place, only needing a win in their next two games to capture promotion.

However, since there was still a mathematical chance that the Chojnice outfit could still overtake Zaglebie Sosnowiec in the standings than nothing was guaranteed yet. It was only until Chojniczanka took a 1:5 beating from leaders Miedz Legnica in the 33rd round that a Zaglebie 1:0 scraped out win over Ruch Chorzow determined that the race had come to an end.

Chojniczanka did later manage to pocket themselves 3 points with a convincing 4:0 win over Bytovia Bytow in the 34th final round, but by then it made no difference in the promotion situation. Zaglebie Sosnowiec ended up losing 0:2 to GKS Tychy at home, but nonetheless had the point advantage over Chojniczanka and now join Miedz in the LOTTO Ekstraklasa for the upcoming season.


Zagłębie Sosnowiec – GKS Tychy 0:2 (0:0)
Goals: Abramowicz 55′, Grzeszczyk 90′

Yellow carded: Milewski, Cichocki, Puchacz – Vojtuš, Tanżyna, Matusiak, Biernat
Referee: Konrad Gąsiorowski (Biała Podlaska) Attendance: 4950

Zagłębie: 1. Dawid Kudła – 77. Konrad Wrzesiński, 4. Arkadiusz Jędrych, 16. Mateusz Cichocki, 99. Tymoteusz Puchacz – 11. Patryk Mularczyk (64, 70. Nuno Malheiro), 21. Sebastian Milewski, 66. Adam Banasiak (77, 27. Vamara Sanogo), 6. Tomasz Nowak, 42. Alexandre Cristóvão (69, 87. Konrad Kumor) – 20. Szymon Lewicki

Tychy: 91. Konrad Jałocha – 13. Mateusz Grzybek, 4. Marcin Biernat, 27. Daniel Tanżyna, 33. Dawid Abramowicz – 25. Kamil Zapolnik, 32. Edgar Bernhardt, 6. Łukasz Matusiak (83, 5. Maciej Mańka), 8. Łukasz Grzeszczyk, 16. Jakub Piątek – 17. Jakub Vojtuš (80, 26. Paweł Kaczmarczyk)

For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook: facebook.com/psnfutbol

Click to add a comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in 1 Liga

Radomiak Radom and Termalica Secure Promotion

PSN StaffJune 13, 2021

Warta Poznan Jump to the Ekstraklasa as Play-off Winners

PSN StaffAugust 1, 2020

Podbeskidzie and Stal Mielec Promoted to the Ekstraklasa

PSN StaffJuly 18, 2020

Rakow and LKS Lodz End Final Days in 1 Liga on a Sour Note

PSN StaffMay 18, 2019

Sandecja and Zabrze Promoted After Topping 1 Liga

PSN StaffJune 4, 2017

Sandecja Nowy Sacz Snap up Former USA Prodigy Freddy Adu

APMarch 3, 2017

Arka Gydnia and Wisla Plock Promoted to Ekstraklasa

PSN StaffMay 22, 2016
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!